The Delfonics

The Essential Delfonics

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Unfortunately released only as a digital download by Sony's catalog division, The Essential Delfonics contains a very high percentage of the tracks from the group's first four albums: La La Means I Love You (1968), Sound of Sexy Soul (1969), The Delfonics (1970), and Tell Me This Is a Dream (1972). (There's also a pair of non-album B-sides.) That means that all the significant singles -- the Top Ten R&B hits "La-La Means I Love You," "You Got Yours and I'll Get Mine," "(Didn't I) Blow Your Mind This Time," and so forth -- are contained. Those who don't need physical packaging and were unable to snap up the Kent label's 2007/2008 two-for-one reissues should not miss out here. [In 2016, the catalog label Real Gone Music released the two-CD set 40 Classic Soul Sides, which featured a tracklist identical to that of this anthology.]