Various Artists

The Domino Records Story

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Back in the late 1950s, Domino was the first record label out of the now burgeoning musical scene of Austin, TX. Formed by 11 adults taking a business night course, the company only lasted for about three years, issuing 16 singles before closing up shop in 1961. But the label found itself leasing product to a bigger label (Liberty) with their first release and having one big hit with the original recording of "You Cheated" by their number one group, the Slades. This 30-track compilation is pretty much a tribute to the local Austin singing group, collecting up all 12 sides of their original six singles (including "The Waddle," a rockabilly scorcher that was the flipside of "You Cheated") and tacking on six more goodies from a previously unreleased rehearsal tape of the group doing a cappella run-throughs of Top 40 faves like "Little Star" and "Ling-Ting-Tong." But equally compelling are five entries from blues belter Joyce Harris, who turns in a scorching rockabilly version of "I Got My Mojo Working" done up more Ann Cole-style than the better known Muddy Waters arrangement. Harris' backup band, the Daylighters (featuring a young Sonny Rhodes), made one single ("I'll Never Let You Go" and "Something Is Wrong") which is here as well. Rounding things out is Joyce Webb, who sang on the Slades' "Baby." They return the favor on both sides of her single, "After You've Gone" and "Right Here." There's a marvelous innocence to all of the tracks collected here; some are so crude as to not even feature drums on what are supposedly rock & roll records! But the sweetness of the Slades' harmonies, the unabashed enthusiasm of Joyce Webb, the unbridled squawling power of Joyce Harris, and the shake-and-stomp fervor of the Daylighters make this a collection loaded with charm.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:04
3 2:17
5 2:11
6 2:32
7 2:35
8 2:39
10 2:30
12 2:19
13 2:57
14 2:10
15 1:57
16 2:13
18 2:11
19 1:47
20 2:37
21 2:12
22 2:12
23 1:48
24 2:03
25 1:46
26 2:15
27 1:33
28 2:25
29 1:58
30 1:24
blue highlight denotes track pick