The Disco Years, Vol. 4: Lost in Music

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Disco Years, Vol. 4: Lost in Music Review

by Andy Kellman

Dozens upon dozens of disco compilations -- some good, some bad -- have been released since Rhino dribbled out their seven-volume Disco Years series in the '90s. While several of the discs that have followed offer consistent track listings and more eye-pleasing packaging, this particular series remains one of the best available. Across seven discs, the disco phenomenon is summarized with a near-perfect balance between the universally known and the not quite as popular. Some might want to stick strictly to the pop-chart toppers, which is understandable for nostalgia's sake; however, one of the most important characteristics of this era is that the singles that failed to cross over into mainstream territory consistently rivaled -- and frequently trumped -- their gold and platinum counterparts. So, it doesn't matter whether you were a Paradise Garage regular or an infrequent viewer of Dance Fever -- there's something for everyone on each of these volumes. The fourth volume of The Disco Years, subtitled "Lost in Music," is a phenomenal installment that evenly mixes the overground with the underground; Change's "Paradise," Inner Life's "I'm Caught Up (In a One Night Love Affair)," René & Angela's "I Love You More," Sister Sledge's "He's the Greatest Dancer," Chic's "Good Times," and Diana Ross' "I'm Coming Out" are all here. The most problematic aspect of these discs is that they favor radio edits that often trim several minutes from the original versions. Hardcore disco freaks will argue that a compromise of the extended groove defeats the purpose, but Rhino would have had to stretch this series out to an unwieldy size in order to accommodate each inclusion's most club-friendly mix.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Chic 03:45 Amazon
2 Norma Jean Wright 03:41 Amazon
3 Sister Sledge 03:36 Amazon
4 Sheila 03:50 Amazon
5 Diana Ross 03:59 Amazon
6 Norma Jean Wright 05:45 Amazon
7 René & Angela 03:39 Amazon
8 KC & the Sunshine Band 03:54 Amazon
9 Kool & the Gang 04:07 Amazon
10 Musique 04:04 Amazon
11 Inner Life 04:25 Amazon
12 Change 04:02 Amazon
13 Peech Boys 04:14 Amazon
14 Jenny Burton / C-Bank 08:34 Amazon
15 Freeez 03:51 Amazon
16 Donna Summer 04:31 Amazon
17 Change 03:59 Amazon
18 Sister Sledge 03:23 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick