The Definitive Rock: Love

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Elektra's two-disc Love entry into its excellent Definitive Rock series bests Rhino's 2003 compilation Best of Love by eight tracks. The inclusion of "Message to Pretty," "You I'll Be Following," and "Mushroom Clouds" from the group's 1966 debut, the B-side "No Fourteen," Da Capo's "Castle," Forever Changes' "Red Telephone" and "Bummer in the Summer," as well as "Good Times" from 1969's Four Sail makes this the second-best collection of the influential psychedelic/folk-rock ensemble's works next to 1995's Love Story 1966-1972. The only glaring omission is that there's nothing here from 1969's woefully uneven Out Here, specifically "Willow, Willow" or "Listen to My Song."

blue highlight denotes track pick