The Definitive Pop Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Definitive Pop collects a nice cross-section of '70s soft rock group America's best recordings. A similar compilation to Rhino's previous release The Complete Greatest Hits, this two-disc anthology is a nice compromise for listeners looking to get all of America's hits as well as some lesser known cuts, but who don't want to commit to the excellent box set Highway: 30 Years of America. Featured here are such classic tunes as "A Horse with No Name," "Ventura Highway," "Sister Golden Hair," and "Muskrat Love." Also included though are such stellar album tracks as "Riverside," "Rainbow Song," "Amber Cascades," and even the group's beloved theme song to the animated film "Watership Down."

blue highlight denotes track pick