The Definitive Collection

Patti LaBelle

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Definitive Collection Review

by AllMusic

There are numerous Patti LaBelle compilations on the market, and Definitive Collection covers much the same ground as most. Nevertheless, it is a fine selection, and one that -- at 19 tracks -- offers more than many budget-line samplers while still providing an excellent single-disc overview of the R&B diva's career. The set stretches back to LaBelle's earliest work with the Bluebelles and includes one track with the funk outfit LaBelle (which is "What Can I Do for You?" and not, surprisingly, "Lady Marmalade"). But the primary focus here is the pop-oriented urban soul of her '80s and '90s solo career, and all the essentials -- "New Attitude," "Stir It Up," and "On My Own" (her number one smash with Michael McDonald) -- are included. Casual fans looking for a one-stop dose of LaBelle's best won't go wrong with this one.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Patti LaBelle feat: Patti Labelle & the Bluebelles 03:31 SpotifyAmazon
Patti LaBelle feat: Patti Labelle & the Bluebelles 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
3 Patti LaBelle feat: Labelle 04:01 SpotifyAmazon
4 Patti LaBelle feat: Grover Washington, Jr. 05:57 SpotifyAmazon
5 Patti LaBelle 04:05 SpotifyAmazon
6 Patti LaBelle 03:36 SpotifyAmazon
7 Patti LaBelle feat: Michael McDonald 04:49 SpotifyAmazon
8 Patti LaBelle 04:22
9 Patti LaBelle 04:27 SpotifyAmazon
10 Patti LaBelle 03:57
Patti LaBelle 04:05
12 Patti LaBelle 04:15
13 Patti LaBelle 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
14 Patti LaBelle 03:58
15 Patti LaBelle 04:33
16 Patti LaBelle 03:47 SpotifyAmazon
17 Patti LaBelle 05:18 SpotifyAmazon
18 Patti LaBelle 04:48 SpotifyAmazon
19 Patti LaBelle 03:19
blue highlight denotes track pick