Rosemary Clooney

The Concord Jazz Heritage Series

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rosemary Clooney's hookup with the Concord label (which began in 1977) resulted in a renaissance in her career and to her being featured in much more jazz-oriented settings than in the past. This 1998 sampler of her Concord years is at its strongest when it features material from her earlier Concord projects, ones that often found her joined by tenor saxophonist Scott Hamilton and cornetist Warren Vaché (although the latter is only on three of the CD's fourteen selections). Less interesting are a few later tracks (including an insipid "Thank Heaven for Little Girls") that show the gradual and inevitable decline in Clooney's voice, finding her backed by an orchestra. This set of the Concord Jazz Heritage Series is very much a mixed bag, highlighted by "I Cried for You," "I'll Be Seeing You," "Fascinating Rhythm" and "God Bless the Child" (taken as a duet with pianist Nat Pierce).

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:56 SpotifyAmazon
2 04:38 SpotifyAmazon
3 04:50 SpotifyAmazon
4 04:16 SpotifyAmazon
5 02:52 SpotifyAmazon
6 04:47 SpotifyAmazon
7 03:11 SpotifyAmazon
8 02:24 SpotifyAmazon
9 03:46 SpotifyAmazon
10 03:34 SpotifyAmazon
11 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
12 03:26 Spotify
13 04:40 SpotifyAmazon
14 04:25 SpotifyAmazon
15 02:43 SpotifyAmazon
16 03:31 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick