Doris Day

The Complete Standard Transcriptions

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A collection of transcriptions recorded during 1952 strictly for use by radio stations filling time, The Complete Standard Transcriptions presents Doris Day in a relaxed setting rarely heard by even her fans. With the Page Cavanaugh Trio on the first five numbers and an intimate small group on the others, Day shines in her typically understated way, giving treatments to classic standards -- among them "You Brought a New Kind of Love to Me," "Star Dust," "Sentimental Journey," "Be Anything (But Be Mine)," "I Could Write a Book," and "I'm in the Mood for Love" -- that walk the fence between pedestrian vocal pop and straight-ahead jazz vocals with grace. For those unaware that Doris Day was anything more than just a staid movie and pop star, it's convincing proof that she's been consistently underrated in the lexicon of great vocalists. The Complete Standard Transcriptions reissues material previously released on Hindsight's two-volume Uncollected Doris Day series.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:15 Spotify
2 1:53 Spotify
3 2:23 Spotify
4 1:47 Spotify
5 3:05 Spotify
6 2:08 Spotify
7 2:41 Spotify
8 2:35 Spotify
9 2:12 Spotify
10 2:25 Spotify
11 3:29 Spotify
12 1:50 Spotify
13 1:41 Spotify
14 2:16 Spotify
15 2:52 Spotify
16 2:13 Spotify
17 2:02 Spotify
18 1:56 Spotify
19 1:56 Spotify
20 2:08 Spotify
21 2:08 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick