The Complete Singles Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Loud and proud, Scotland's Nazareth only had a couple of singles that charted in the U.S., but they issued a boatload. This massive three-disc set from Recall contains every single the band released between 1972 ("Dear John") through to 1994 ("Move Me"). Sure, "Love Hurts" -- both original and orchestral version (1984) -- and "Hair of the Dog" are here. There are some out-of-sequence tracks on the last disc, mainly reissues of "Morning Dew," which originally appeared in 1972 but was re-released three different times. One has to wonder why, since Nazareth's version doesn't touch the Jeff Beck Group's read? There are also some bonus singles included by frontman Dan McCafferty. This will certainly only appeal to the faithful, since everyone else gave up on the band in the 1970s, but for those few who still care, this will be essential.

blue highlight denotes track pick