The Complete James Brown Christmas

James Brown

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Complete James Brown Christmas Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Part of Hip-O Select's exhaustive and terrific James Brown reissue series, 2010’s The Complete James Brown Christmas is a double-disc set that rounds up his three seasonal albums for King -- 1966’s Christmas Songs, 1968’s A Soulful Christmas, 1970’s Hey America -- and a handful of non-LP singles and single edits. Unlike most artists who bend themselves to fit the standards of the season, Brown didn’t abandon his carefully crafted style for Christmas: he made records that sounded like his hits, they just happened to be about Santa Claus and Christmastime. And his three holiday LPs were not interchangeable, either. Each reflected the sound of the year, so Christmas Songs was steeped in dramatic, string-laden uptown soul; A Soulful Christmas dug deep into the grooves, going so far as to include “Say It Loud - I’m Black and I’m Proud” in the thick of the proceedings; and Hey America was powered by deep, heavy funk. Because so much emphasis is on the grooves, it doesn’t take long for the Christmas themes to become incidental, but that’s fine; these three albums were recorded while James Brown & the JB’s were at a peak so it’s a pleasure just to hear them play anything. This may be a disappointment for some looking for more JB that is as clearly Christmas as “Santa Claus Go Straight to the Ghetto,” but the entirety of The Complete James Brown Christmas is a joy that could be shared at any time of the year.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 James Brown 06:30 SpotifyAmazon
2 James Brown 05:16 SpotifyAmazon
3 James Brown 02:33 SpotifyAmazon
4 James Brown 04:38 SpotifyAmazon
5 James Brown 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
6 James Brown 03:55 SpotifyAmazon
7 James Brown 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
8 James Brown 03:24 SpotifyAmazon
9 James Brown 03:03 SpotifyAmazon
10 James Brown 04:49 SpotifyAmazon
11 James Brown 02:58 SpotifyAmazon
12 James Brown 03:04 SpotifyAmazon
13 James Brown 04:06 SpotifyAmazon
14 James Brown 02:18 SpotifyAmazon
15 James Brown 03:09 SpotifyAmazon
16 James Brown 03:07 SpotifyAmazon
17 James Brown 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
18 James Brown 04:49 SpotifyAmazon
19 James Brown 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
20 James Brown 02:46 SpotifyAmazon
21 James Brown 02:23 SpotifyAmazon
22 James Brown 03:49 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick