Donna Summer

The Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Issued in Germany by the Universal-affiliated Spectrum label, The Collection is about as iffy as it looks. It contains 14 cuts, some of which are among Donna Summer's biggest hits, including "She Works Hard for the Money," "Bad Girls," and "Hot Stuff." However, the set is filled with too many random and insignificant album cuts to be recommendable. Just about any other single-disc overview tops this one. Among the missing hits: "Love to Love You Baby," "I Feel Love," "On the Radio," "Heaven Knows," "State of Independence," and "MacArthur Park." Any single-disc sampling of the singer's best output should have most or all of those songs.

blue highlight denotes track pick