Teddy Pendergrass

The Box Set Series

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The Box Set Series, released by Legacy in 2014, repackages and reissues the 2010 anthology The Music of Teddy Pendergrass. While the earlier set consisted of 45 songs on three discs, this one contains the same selection spread across four discs. Most of TP's most notable solo singles, along with some deep album cuts, are here, including "You Can't Hide from Yourself," "Close the Door," "The More I Get, The More I Want," "Turn Off the Lights," and "I Can't Win for Losing." There's also a live medley of Pendergrass' Blue Notes highlights, taken from Live! Coast to Coast, released when the singer was at the peak of his powers.

blue highlight denotes track pick