Doug Sahm / The Sir Douglas Quintet

The Best of Doug Sahm & the Sir Douglas Quintet 1968-1975

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Doug Sahm once sang, "You just can't live in Texas if you don't have a lot of soul," and, as a proud son of the Lone Star state, he seemed bent on proving that every time he stepped in front of a microphone. Whether he was playing roots rock, garage punk, blues, country, norteƱo, or (as was often the case) something that mixed up several of the above-mentioned ingredients, Doug Sahm always sounded like Doug Sahm -- a little wild, a little loose, but always good company, and a guy with a whole lot of soul who knew a lot of musicians upon whom the same praise could be bestowed. Pulling together a single disc compilation that would make sense of the length and breadth of the artist's recording career (which spanned five decades) would be just about impossible (the licensing hassles involved with the many labels involved would probably scotch such a project anyway), but this disc, which boasts 22 songs recorded over the course of eight years, is a pretty good starter for anyone wanting to get to know Sahm's music. You get two almost-hits ("Mendocino" and "[Is Anybody Going To] San Antone"), a healthy portion of memorable album cuts, and even a few unreleased songs as Sir Doug and his pals (among them fellow future Texas Tornado Augie Meyers and Doug's pal Bob Dylan) swing through vintage blues, country weepers, rootsy hippie jams, and a few cuts that defy convenient description, all dominated by Sahm's warm, expressive drawl, distinctive guitar work, and the loose but emphatic sound he knew how to draw from a band. Put it this way -- there's one guy in a million who could write and record a song called "You Never Get Too Big and You Sure Don't Get Too Heavy That You Don't Have to Stop and Pay Some Dues Sometime" and not sound like a fool. Doug Sahm was that man, and you get to hear him sing it on The Best of Doug Sham, along with 21 other equally cool tunes.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:38
2 3:26
3 3:39
4 2:36
5 3:18 Amazon
6 4:04
8 4:37
9 3:00
10 2:40
11 2:20
12 2:42 Amazon
13 2:34
14 3:49
15 3:32
16 3:37
17 3:20 Amazon
18 6:17
19 3:01 Amazon
20 2:51 Amazon
21 2:42 Amazon
22 3:14 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick