Various Artists

The Beatnuts Collection

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The scholarly sample fiends at Strictly Breaks were enterprising enough to realize that a market could exist for compilations featuring tracks sampled by one particular artist. Taking the concept of the format pioneered by Ultimate Breaks and Beats one step further, the vinyl-based Beatnuts Collection assembles tracks that have been put to use by the Beatnuts. (Strictly Breaks have also done the same for A Tribe Called Quest, Jay-Z, Nas, De La Soul, and Pete Rock.) Most selections are provided in full, while several are frustratingly reduced to a few brief (if entirely relevant) bars. The Beatnuts Collection, originally released in 2002, contains Donald Byrd's "Wee Tina" (as heard in "Props Over Here"), Booker Little's "The Confined Few" ("No Equal"), Bill Doggett's "Honky Tonk" ("Are You Ready?"), Hugo Montenegro's "Again" ("Rik's Joint"), Blowfly's "Sesame Street Theme" ("Spelling Beatnuts With Lil' Donny"), Enoch Light's "A Little Fugue for You and Me" ("No Escapin' This"), and Glass Prism's "Here You Are" ("Hellraiser"). As this double-vinyl set proves once and for all, the Beatnuts rarely recycled the tried and true breaks. Buyer beware: the sound quality varies from track to track.