Mariah Carey

The Ballads

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

In 1998, it would have been a cheap joke to say that Mariah Carey had no other kind of hits than ballads, but in the ensuing decade she steadily remade herself into an R&B diva, obscuring if not quite erasing the well-mannered adult contemporary singer of the '90s. The 2009 compilation The Ballads -- released just before Valentines Day 2009 -- attempts to turn back the clock by focusing just on those AC tunes -- 18 of them, in fact, including such mammoth hits as "Hero," "One Sweet Day," "Vision of Love," "I'll Be There," "I Still Believe," "Dreamlover," and "Always Be My Baby." Of course, this concentration on middle of the road ballads is a side effect of label affiliation: The Ballads is a product of Sony, who had Mariah during the '90s, before the club R&B overshadowed these office-friendly hits, so it's easier for them to cobble together a comp of Carey at her most sentimental. And that's what The Ballads is: nothing but big love songs sung in a big voice. For fans who have missed this side of Mariah in the 2000s, this is a welcome reminder of what they used to love.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 4:20 Spotify
feat: Boyz II Men
3 3:30 Spotify
4 3:35 Spotify
5 4:27 Spotify
6 3:48 Spotify
7 4:44 Spotify
8 5:09
9 4:21
10 3:56 Spotify
11 3:52 Spotify
12 5:15 Spotify
13 4:34 Spotify
14 4:27 Spotify
15 4:19 Spotify
16 3:54 Spotify
17 3:30
18 3:21 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick