Johnny De Droit & His New Orleans Orchestra

The Arcadian Serenaders: The Complete Sets 1924-1925

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The complete output of two important groups are on this CD. Cornetist Johnny DeDroit & His New Orleans Jazz Orchestra are heard on nine numbers recorded in New Orleans during 1924-1925, including "Panama," "The Swing" (which is really "Washington and Lee Swing," "Number Two Blues," and "When My Sugar Walks Down the Street." The only "name" player in the septet is pianist Frank Froeba (who is on the final three songs), but the band had an appealing ensemble sound and DeDroit contributed a solid lead. While the DeDroit sides had been available on a few occasions in the past, the 14 numbers by the Arcadian Serenaders (including some selections originally released as the Original Crescent City Jazzers) were much more scarce. The first two tunes are by a New Orleans septet on March 17, 1924, including cornetist Stirling Bose, trombonist Avery Loposer, and Cliff Holman on clarinet and alto. While those are fine, the band is in better form for four numbers made in St. Louis on November 29 with Wingy Manone replacing Bose; among the more memorable selections are "Who Can Your Regular Be Blues" and "Fidgety Feet." Best of all is the final set (from October 26, 1925) with Bose returning. The eight numbers include "Back Home in Illinois," "You Gotta Know How," "Yes Sir Boss," "Just a Little Bit Bad," and "Angry." While reminiscent in style to the New Orleans Rhythm Kings, the Arcadian Serenaders also proved to be mighty in their own right. Highly recommended to 1920s collectors.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 2:45
2 3:03
3 3:02
5 2:46
6 3:00
7 2:47
9 2:39
10 2:49
11 3:05
12 2:50
13 3:13
14 2:46
15 3:00
16 3:00
18 3:06
19 2:43
20 2:58
21 2:33
22 3:07
23 2:46
blue highlight denotes track pick