The Anthology

Joe Cocker

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

The Anthology Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

A&M's double-disc Anthology may be too much for casual fans that just want the hits, but anyone else will find this exhaustive 37-track chronicle of Joe Cocker's prime years definitive. The first disc concentrates on his first three albums, buttressed by a rare 1964 single of the Beatles' "I'll Cry Instead" and his 1970 non-LP single "The Letter"/"Space Captain." Disc two features highlights of all the albums he recorded between 1972 and 1982, selecting not only hits, but key album tracks. The end result is a collection that is concise and definitive. It may be missing such latter day hits as "When the Night Comes" and doesn't cover as much ground as the box set Long Voyage Home, but anyone looking for a comprehensive collection of Cocker's classic recordings will be satisfied by Anthology.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Joe Cocker 01:43 SpotifyAmazon
2 Joe Cocker 02:41 SpotifyAmazon
3 Joe Cocker 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
4 Joe Cocker 05:20 SpotifyAmazon
5 Joe Cocker 04:11 SpotifyAmazon
6 Joe Cocker 04:01 SpotifyAmazon
7 Joe Cocker 04:43 SpotifyAmazon
8 Joe Cocker 05:13 SpotifyAmazon
9 Joe Cocker 02:52 SpotifyAmazon
10 Joe Cocker 02:40 SpotifyAmazon
11 Joe Cocker 04:40 SpotifyAmazon
12 Joe Cocker 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
13 Joe Cocker 03:25 SpotifyAmazon
14 Joe Cocker 04:43 SpotifyAmazon
15 Joe Cocker 04:10 SpotifyAmazon
16 Joe Cocker 04:11 SpotifyAmazon
17 Joe Cocker 04:30 SpotifyAmazon
18 Joe Cocker 03:57 SpotifyAmazon
19 Joe Cocker 07:34 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick