Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker; Prokofiev: Cinderella

André Previn

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker; Prokofiev: Cinderella Review

by Blair Sanderson

EMI's reissues of André Previn's recordings of Tchaikovsky's ballets are welcome offerings, thanks to the conductor's masterful interpretations, the committed playing of the London Symphony Orchestra, and the fine analog sound, which is quite vivid and clear, even by today's high standards. Recorded in 1972, Previn's classically poised reading of the Nutcracker has reappeared over the years on LP and CD and become one of the most highly recommended renditions. Yet this affordable reissue in the Classics for Pleasure series is made even more enticing with the addition of extra material. Not only is the complete ballet followed by exciting performances of Tchaikovsky's Romeo and Juliet Fantasy-Overture, Marche Slave, and the 1812 Festival Overture (replete with cannon volleys and church bells) -- all recorded contemporaneously with The Nutcracker in high quality sound -- but it is augmented with seven colorful selections from Prokofiev's Cinderella, digitally recorded in 1983, which make this double-disc a generous serving of Russian classics, well-suited to beginners and experienced listeners alike.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
Nutcracker, ballet, Op. 71
1 André Previn 03:28 Amazon
2 André Previn 04:16 Amazon
3 André Previn 02:23 Amazon
4 André Previn 02:27 Amazon
5 André Previn 05:43 Amazon
6 André Previn 05:42 Amazon
7 André Previn 06:35 Amazon
8 André Previn 03:20 Amazon
9 André Previn 03:57 Amazon
10 André Previn 06:18
11 André Previn 04:26
12 André Previn 04:33 Amazon
13 André Previn 01:10 Amazon
14 André Previn 03:12 Amazon
15 André Previn 01:06 Amazon
16 André Previn 01:07 Amazon
17 André Previn 02:17 Amazon
18 André Previn 02:53 Amazon
19 André Previn 06:55 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick