Stewart Goodyear

Tchaikovsky: The Nutcracker - Complete Ballet arranged for solo piano

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A quick glance at the cover of this recording of Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky's The Nutcracker might cause some to mistake it for the original orchestral music, because the words "arranged for solo piano" are in the smallest print. Stewart Goodyear's piano arrangement of the complete ballet is a fascinating example of the art of transcription, and the pianist deserves credit not only for his ingenious handling of Tchaikovsky's orchestration in terms of the keyboard's sonorities, but also for playing with close attention to details and tone colors that give the music its fantastic character. This Steinway & Sons recording is certainly a delight for its energy and brilliance, and fans of piano music will appreciate Goodyear's cleverness in adapting such perennial favorites as the Overture, the March, the Divertissements, and the Dance of the Sugar Plum Fairy, which are familiar as the Nutcracker Suite. But the full ballet may be a bit much in piano reduction, and unless one is prepared to hear all 82 minutes of this piano version, The Nutcracker is best enjoyed in its full score.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
The Nutcracker
1 03:09 Amazon
2 03:36 Amazon
3 02:19 Amazon
4 02:11 Amazon
5 05:23 Amazon
6 05:45 Amazon
7 06:21 Amazon
8 03:16 Amazon
9 03:50 Amazon
10 06:11 Amazon
11 03:58 Amazon
12 04:35 Amazon
13 01:10 Amazon
14 03:26 Amazon
15 00:58 Amazon
16 00:58 Amazon
17 02:05 Amazon
18 02:34 Amazon
19 06:25 Amazon
20 05:08 Amazon
21 00:35 Amazon
22 02:04 Amazon
23 01:13 Amazon
24 04:59 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick