The Brand New Heavies


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The celebratory feeling is stronger on TBNH than it is on any of the Brand New Heavies' ten preceding studio albums. Since Sweet Freaks in 2014, principals Andrew Levy and Simon Bartholomew have returned to the Acid Jazz label and changed lead singers yet again, joined now by the bubbly but not saccharine Angela Ricci. The vocalist is the lead on only three songs, however, with past BNH members N'Dea Davenport and Siedah Garrett and other guests (including Angie Stone, Beverley Knight, and Jack Knight) taking turns on a set of fully decked-out disco. The rotation works to the advantage of Levy and Bartholomew, who also get songwriting input from most of the singers and tend to keep it fresh, even with clear references and likenesses to well-known late-'70s/early-'80s material by artists such as the Miracles, Diana Ross, the Emotions, and Prince. Their neatest trick is pulled with Davenport and guest co-producer slash superfan Mark Ronson, who give Kendrick Lamar's "These Walls" a subtly dazzling makeover with a twisting rhythm a bit like that of Womack & Womack's "Baby I'm Scared of You."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:56 Amazon
2 04:12 Amazon
3 05:05 Amazon
4 03:30 Amazon
5 03:49 Amazon
6 03:29 Amazon
7 04:30 Amazon
8 04:05 Amazon
9 04:08 Amazon
10 03:32 Amazon
11 03:38 Amazon
12 03:39 Amazon
13 04:46 Amazon
14 03:59 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick