Various Artists

Take Action!, Vol. 3

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Take Action, Vol. 3 is a double-disc set put together by Sub City Records to help financially further suicide prevention and the National Hopeline Network in particular. The 43 bands involved each donated a song from a recent album or EP to the compilation. The music mostly falls under the category of modern aggressive guitar rock: emo, screamo, alt-metal, punk-pop, neo-hardcore -- you name it and you'll find a representative band here. There are a couple of exceptions to the loud, fast, and angst-ridden sounds that dominate the two discs; the second disc includes the power pop of Brendan Benson, the art emo of Cursive, and the sweet indie rock of the Jealous Sound. In fact, the entire second disc focuses on the softer side of modern punk, featuring bands like Elliott and the Jazz June, which soften the edges of their sound with poppy textures, and bands like Yellowcard and Jupiter Sunrise, which scale back the sonic assault and rely on anguished vocals to carry the day. Fans of the modern sound will find much to like here, standouts being Thursday's howling "For the Workforce, Drowning," Good Riddance's "More DePalma, Less Fellini," the Ataris' poppy "A Beautiful Mistake" (taken from the Japanese release of So Long Astoria), and Division of Laura Lee's ominous "Black City," and may discover a few new favorites as well.

blue highlight denotes track pick