Tasmin Little / Edward Gardner / BBC Symphony Orchestra

Szymanowski, Karlowicz: Violin Concertos

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

None of these three Polish violin concertos are terribly common on concert programs. They are fearsomely virtuosic, and British violinist Tasmin Little meets the challenges in every way that could be desired. Sample the finale of the five-movement Violin Concerto No. 1, Op. 35, of Karol Szymanowski, with the long, double-stop-strewn, cadenza-like passage in the middle answered by orchestral tumult. It's an exciting work throughout, and the Violin Concerto No. 2, Op. 61, of 1933, is even better, with strong folkloric elements pared down to compact statements in a fascinating way that suggests Szymanowski had been listening to Bartók and trying to reconcile his discoveries with his own language. The final concerto by Miezyslaw Karlowicz is a bravura work in the Tchaikovskian vein, especially at the very beginning where Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor, Op. 23 is the clear model.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
Concerto No. 1, Op. 35 for Violin and Orchestra
1 05:25
2 06:28
3 04:19
4 03:28
5 05:46
Concerto No. 2, Op. 61 in A minor for Violin and Orchestra
6 11:28
7 03:53
8 02:14
9 02:52
Concerto, Op. 8 in A major for Violin and Orchestra
10 12:39
11 07:36
12 06:59
blue highlight denotes track pick