Various Artists

Synth Me Up: 14 Classic Electronic Hits

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Subtitled "14 Classic Electronic Hits," this budget compilation does do an admirable job of providing a micro-history of electronic music in mainstream pop. The definitions are pretty elastic here as well, making room for everything from Edgar Winter's "Frankenstein" and Jan Hammer's "Miami Vice Theme" to Billy Preston's "Outta-Space," Mike Oldfield's "Tubular Bells" and Duane Eddy with the Art of Noise doing "Peter Gunn." Tracks from Hot Butter ("Popcorn"), Mike Post ("The Rockford Files"), Dick Hyman ("The Minotaur"), the Alan Parsons Project ("I Robot"), Giorgio Moroder ("Chase"), Paul Hardcastle ("Rain Forest"), and Harold Faltermeyer ("Axel F") complete the collection.

blue highlight denotes track pick