New Wolverine Jazz Orchestra

Sydney To Chicago

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The New Wolverine Jazz Orchestra, a classic jazz band from Australia, sounds much larger than a septet due to its creative arrangements. On this well-rounded set, the first ten selections are all associated with cornetist Bix Beiderbecke, and these cover most periods of his career. Highlights include "There Ain't No Land Like Dixieland To Me," "Ostrich Walk," "Big Boy," and "Goose Pimples." The remaining ten numbers primarily date from the 1930s, with a couple being earlier. The more memorable numbers include fresh versions of "Let's Dance," "Chicago," "Cross Your Heart," and "My Blue Heaven." The New Wolverine Jazz Orchestra has excellent soloists (including cornetist George Power, Jim Elliott on trombone, tenor and clarinet, and Trevor Rippingale on reeds), clean ensembles, and a winning group sound. This set is easily recommended to trad and classic jazz collectors.