Aztec Camera


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A three-song EP containing slightly remixed versions of "Sun" and "Sunset" from the final Aztec Camera album, 1995's Frestonia, this would be a perfectly forgettable release but for the third track. This live version of "The Crying Scene" (the first single from 1990's Stray) recorded at the Phoenix Festival in July 1995 is an outstanding take of one of Roddy Frame's best songs, minus the slightly too-crowded arrangement of the studio version. Stripped back to a two guitars, piano, bass, and drums setting, without the massive vocal and rhythm guitar overdubs, the song's powerful chorus and driving central riff become more direct, and Frame's passionate vocals help make this the closest Aztec Camera came to pure rock & roll in their entire career. Of the two studio tracks, "Sun" is nothing special, a pleasantly innocuous piece of radio pop. "Sunset" is a much more interesting acoustic version of the song, taken at a slower tempo with organ and acoustic bass accents instead of anonymous synths and featuring a lower, more relaxed vocal by Frame. "Sunset" harks back to the folk-poppy High Land, Hard Rain days and is a much more satisfying performance.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
2 3:46
3 4:20
blue highlight denotes track pick