Judy Garland

Summer Stock/In the Good Old Summertime (Soundtracks)

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

While the soundtrack and score for most any "classic"MGM musical would be welcome, the two particular films featured on this disc are also notable as the final pair to include Judy Garland, who had starred in a total of 28 features and five cinematic shorts during her 15-year affiliation with the venerable studio. In the Good Old Summertime was initially to have starred June Allyson and Frank Sinatra. However, studio brass felt that the primary vocalist role of Veronica Fisher would best be suited to Garland and that the support characterization of Andrew Larkin might be served more efficiently by an actor -- who could also sing. The seven tracks that feature Garland include her solo vocals on "Meet Me Tonight in Dreamland," "Merry Christmas," "I Don't Care," and the outtake "Last Night When We Were Young." This CD also captures the lead vocal efforts from Van Johnson and the King's Men barbershop quartet, as well as the instrumental violin prowess of actress Marcia Van Dyke, who portrays an up and coming musician in the film. After being "dismissed" from the set of Annie Get Your Gun, Garland began work on Summer Stock, which was at one time to have been a reunion picture for her and Mickey Rooney. Ultimately, it was Gene Kelly who played Joe D. Ross to Garland's Jane Falbury. This soundtrack yielded four solo vocals from Garland. "Get Happy" became one of the performances with which she is most directly associated. There is also a rare vocal duet from supporting actors Phil Silvers and Gloria DeHaven on the outtake "Fall in Love," which has remained unissued until now. The complete behind-the-scenes story of the making and the music of both films is recounted in the 20-page liner notes text by Garland biographer John Fricke. Surrounding his words are vintage movie stills as well as full-color reproductions of the original promotional lobby cards. Summer Stock/In the Good Old Summertime is limited to an edition of 6,000 copies.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:48
2 2:24
3 2:55
4 4:09
5 2:23
6 2:15
7 4:01
8 2:27
feat: Gene Kelly
10 3:08
11 1:59
12 4:22
13 1:27
14 2:02
feat: Gene Kelly
16 3:54
17 2:49
18 1:53
19 0:52
20 0:22
21 1:28
22 0:55
23 2:27
feat: Van Johnson
26 2:55
27 1:08
29 2:50
30 2:09
31 3:54
32 2:44
33 0:40
blue highlight denotes track pick