Johnny Winter

Suicide Won't Satisfy

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first volume of a two-CD set, this collection and its companion, BLACK CAT BONE, are available separately, or together under the name ELECTRIC BLUESMAN. SUICIDE WON'T SATISFY is an odds-and-ends collection. This doesn't mean it's a mixed bag in terms of quality, merely that the different styles essayed on these 17 tracks don't exactly give a fully-rounded portrait of Johnny Winter so much as they hint at what the Texas blues rocker is capable of.

Heavy on the covers, including three separate takes on J.D. Loudermilk's "Bad News" and a killer bash on Mose Allison's "Parchman Farm," SUICIDE WON'T SATISFY also includes a variety of Winter originals. The self-penned tunes range from the barely minute-long Delta-style fragment "My Baby" to a surprising '60s-vintage garage rocker called "You'll Be the Death of Me." The sound quality varies from track to track, but the music is uncontestable.

blue highlight denotes track pick