Suicide Squad: The Album

Original Soundtrack

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Suicide Squad: The Album Review

by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Suicide Squad, the DC property where the bad guys are the actual heroes, cries out for an appropriately aggressive accompanying soundtrack, which is precisely what Suicide Squad: The Album delivers. Sometimes the tempo slows and at times the murk lifts for a bit of lightness -- by the time War's "Slippin' into Darkness," one of two oldies here, arrives it's a blessed, breezy relief -- but the overall feel of Suicide Squad: The Album is one of dank industrial gloom: this music is meant to live in the shadows. Often, the music celebrates darkness. Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa, and Imagine Dragons admit they're a "Sucker for Pain," Kehlani lusts for a "Gangsta," and the whole shebang starts with Skrillex & Rick Ross creating an unholy racket in "Purple Lamborghini." Despite the presence of Twenty One Pilots, possibly the most popular rock band in 2016, Suicide Squad: The Album feels like a throwback, a salute to Y2K rap-rock and Todd McFarlane figures anchored by Eminem's "Without Me." It's an odd bit of cognitive dissonance that isn't without its moments: Dan Auerbach, Mark Ronson, and Action Bronson conjure some spooky soul and there's an elegance underpinning Grace's "You Don't Own Me" that recalls vintage Portishead. All the same, the record's heart is in manicured chaos, served up with gloss and volume.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Rick Ross / Skrillex 03:35 Amazon
2 Imagine Dragons / Wiz Khalifa / Lil Wayne 04:04 Amazon
3 Twenty One Pilots 03:15 Amazon
4 Dan Auerbach / Action Bronson 03:22 Amazon
5 Kehlani 02:57 Amazon
6 Kevin Gates 03:28 Amazon
7 Grace 03:19 Amazon
8 Eminem 04:22 Amazon
9 Skylar Grey 03:48 Amazon
10 Grimes 03:01 Amazon
11 Panic! At the Disco 06:01 Amazon
12 War 03:47 Amazon
13 Creedence Clearwater Revival 02:18 Amazon
14 Confidential Music 03:10 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick