Jean-Claude Risset


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This French electronic composer's work is considered under the acousmatic umbrella of the musique concréte movement. With the academy of INA GRM, the Paris studio is known for the productions of composers Luc Ferrari, Michael Chion, and Francois Bayle. Jean Claudes Risset shares many aesthetics with these forward-thinking composers, and this collection is a wonderful document of progressive notions in narrative musique concréte. "Sud" was composed as a sound photograph using limited pallet of field recordings, which the composer treats and processes with subtle interventions, carefully stringing together a complex narrative from these reduced sound sources. Recordings of the sea, insects, birds, and metallic and wooden chimes are preferred sound sources, and the composer creates a stunning bricollage of nostalgic sound events within a graceful yet challenging compositional structure.