Various Artists

Studio X

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

No matter what criticism has been laid at the steps of Danny Williamson's label, his line in well-marketed compilation albums has built an enviable reputation for clever concepts coupled with distinctive photography and artwork, ensuring that both CDs and vinyl box sets have stood some distance from the traditional drum'n'bass white label. After almost two years of reissues via the Looking Back, Points in Time, and Producer series, LTJ Bukem hits the audio milliners for a new A&R hat in order to bring ten previous unreleased tracks from both newcomers and established producers to this latest series. Despite all this, the selection is unsurprising, all vast synthetic intros punched in from the ever-faithful Good Looking sound source, the Roland JV2080, dropping to neat beats and faux funk basslines within a minute or so before breaking down and starting over. As such, it is left to the veterans to teach a lesson to the young pretenders with the closing "Station to Station," which sees Sean O'Keefe's Deep Blue joining forces with Omni Trio's Rob Haigh for a perfectly paced dancefloor dominator where clipped beats are smothered by rich chords, themselves subtly drifting in and out of focus as the track progresses.

blue highlight denotes track pick