Street Nation 2010

Various Artists

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

Street Nation 2010 Review

by Jon O'Brien

Previously in the shadow of their more glamorous, established American counterparts, British hip-hop acts have, over the previous two years, unexpectedly become the dominant force in the music scene. Indeed, the synth-led R&B of Taio Cruz has conquered not only the U.K. Top 40, but also the Billboard charts, while Lady Sovereign has successfully exported her unique brand of grime to U.S. urban audiences. With the exception of Diddy, whose “Hello Good Morning” appears due to Skepta's grime remix, and Pussycat Dolls' Kimberly Wyatt, guest vocalist on Aggro Santos' “Candy,” Street Nation 2010 is the first mainstream compilation to focus entirely on home-grown talent. Only highlighting the genre's prominence, there are six number ones included, from the likes of Tinie Tempah, Chipmunk, and Roll Deep. However, the album is dominated by perhaps its most significant breakthrough act, London trio N-Dubz, who appear on their own tracks, the StreetDance lead single “We Dance On” and the Mr. Hudson collaboration “Playing with Fire,” Tinchy Stryder's chart-topping “Number One,” and Ultra's Dappy-featuring “Addicted to Love.” However, the album's highlights are Wiley's ferocious techno-influenced “Take That,” Florence and the Machine and Dizzee Rascal's inspired Brit Awards mash-up “You Got the Dirtee Love,” and Naughty Boy's effortlessly cool reworking of the White Town classic “Never Be Your Woman.” But for the purists who feel British hip-hop has strayed too far from its underground roots, there are several less commercial cuts from Boy Better Know, J.M.E., and Bashy, who, unlike Ironik and Professor Green, are unlikely to sample the not entirely “street” Elton John and INXS any time soon. Providing a snapshot of the current musical climate, Street Nation 2010 is a collection of radio-friendly crossover hits and lesser-known Channel U staples that is more than likely to be the first installment of a long-running series.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Roll Deep 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
2 Tinchy Stryder 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
3 Professor Green 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
4 Chew Fu / Wiley 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
5 Skepta 03:14 SpotifyAmazon
6 N-Dubz 03:27 SpotifyAmazon
7 Chipmunk 03:36 SpotifyAmazon
8 Tinie Tempah 03:56 SpotifyAmazon
9 Florence / Florence + the Machine / The Machine 03:39 SpotifyAmazon
10 Major Lazer 02:45 SpotifyAmazon
Funky Dee 02:44 SpotifyAmazon
12 Ghetts 03:10 SpotifyAmazon
13 Fearless / Ultra 03:15 SpotifyAmazon
14 Angel / Danso / Edwin Danso 03:41 SpotifyAmazon
15 Kayne 03:23 SpotifyAmazon
16 Scorcher 03:21 SpotifyAmazon
17 JME 02:38 SpotifyAmazon
18 Wiley 02:49 SpotifyAmazon
19 Gracious K 03:06 SpotifyAmazon
K.I.G. 03:30 SpotifyAmazon
21 Lethal Bizzle 03:03 SpotifyAmazon

Track Listing - Disc 2

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Taio Cruz 03:40 SpotifyAmazon
2 Diddy / Diddy - Dirty Money 03:46 SpotifyAmazon
3 Roll Deep 03:43 SpotifyAmazon
4 Aggro Santos 03:00 SpotifyAmazon
5 Devlin 03:22 SpotifyAmazon
6 Tinie Tempah 03:38 SpotifyAmazon
7 Professor Green 03:43 SpotifyAmazon
8 Bodyrox / N-Dubz 03:07 SpotifyAmazon
9 Ironik 03:24 SpotifyAmazon
10 Tinchy Stryder 03:33 SpotifyAmazon
11 Kano 03:35 SpotifyAmazon
12 Naughty Boy 02:26 SpotifyAmazon
Mz. Bratt 02:48 SpotifyAmazon
14 Boy Better Know 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
15 Donae'o 03:37 SpotifyAmazon
16 Princess Nyah 03:53 SpotifyAmazon
Bashy 03:59 SpotifyAmazon
18 JME 03:12 SpotifyAmazon
19 Giggs 04:53 SpotifyAmazon
20 Sincere 03:02 SpotifyAmazon
21 Donae'o 03:32 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick