Kent Nagano / London Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

What an odd little Kent Nagano collection! First up, his recording Stravinsky's Le Sacre du printemps with the London Philharmonic taken from their two disc-set coupling Le Sacre with Stravinsky's Persephone. Next is the March from Prokofiev's L'amour des trois oranges with the Orchestre de l'Opera Lyon culled from their two-disc set of the complete opera. Next is the Dance of the Seven Veils from Strauss' Salome, also with the Lyon Opera Orchestra, taken from their two-disc set of the complete opera performed in French. Finally, there is Strauss' Bourgeois Gentilehomme Suite taken from their two-disc set coupling Ariadne auf Naxos with Der Burger als Edelmann. Although this program makes very little sense, the strength of the performances still makes it attractive. With the London Philharmonic, Nagano turns in a muscular and driven Le Sacre, while with the Lyon Orchestra he turns in a snappy March, a sexy Dance, and a witty Suite. Virgin's sound is loud and proud and sexy, which is not at all inappropriate considering the music.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra
1 03:14
2 03:14
3 01:27
4 03:44
5 01:53
6 00:43
7 00:25
8 01:19
9 04:37
10 03:20
11 01:36
12 00:44
13 03:30
14 04:44
The Love for Three Oranges, suite for orchestra, Op. 33 bis
15 01:35
Salome, opera, Op. 54 (TrV 215)
16 09:30
Der Bürger als Edelmann (Le bourgeois gentilhomme), suite from the ballet for orchestra, Op. 60-IIIa (TrV 228c)
17 04:10
18 01:38
19 05:03
20 02:14
21 01:19
22 03:00
23 01:36
24 02:34
blue highlight denotes track pick