Martha Argerich

Steinway Legends: Martha Argerich

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

How great a pianist is Martha Argerich? Is she the greatest woman pianist of her time? It could almost certainly be so. Is she the greatest woman pianist of all time? With the possible exception of Clara Schumann, it could almost positively be so. Is she the greatest pianist of her time? With the possible exceptions of Pollini, it could almost surely be so. Is she the greatest pianist of all time? Who would dare to say? After all, Liszt never made a record. One thing is certain: Argerich is beyond all argument one of the greatest pianist who has ever made a record. How can one be so sure? Listen to anything on this two disc set culled from her Deutsche Grammophon catalog. Performance for performance and performance after performance, Argerich's playing is easily the equal of any other recorded pianist from Hoffman through Horowitz and beyond. From beginning to end, every performance here is undeniably among the supreme recordings of the work. Her flawless technique is breathtaking. Her impeccable tone is awe-inspiring. Her hot-blooded interpretations are overwhelming. And she makes it all sound easy, natural, and utterly irresistible. For any listener who hasn't already heard Martha Argerich, try just her recording of Prokofiev's Toccata on Disc 2. If the reckless courage and heedless passion of her playing don't get you, the complete control and supreme authority will. Deutsche Grammophon's sound is consistently clear, clean, and colorful.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 11:02 Amazon
Piano Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22
2 05:31 Amazon
3 04:56 Amazon
4 01:31
5 04:47 Amazon
6 08:31 Amazon
7 06:36 Amazon
8 06:25
Piano Sonata in B minor, S. 178 (LW A179)
9 03:02 Amazon
10 01:58 Amazon
11 03:40 Amazon
12 02:05 Amazon
13 00:46 Amazon
14 04:19 Amazon
15 02:43 Amazon
16 01:52 Amazon
17 01:14 Amazon
18 01:13 Amazon
19 03:04 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick