Shane Faubert

Squirrelboy Blue

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Faubert's third album is kind of like a tour through the various pop and roots music forms he's dallied with throughout his career. It neither especially drives his music stylistically forward nor embarrasses him. There are sprinklings of the garage organ sound he used back in the Cheepskates days, the energetic power pop chords he's always kept in his repertoire, and the pensive folk-rock that he's come to favor more as he's gotten older. It's not as reflective as his previous outing (San Blass), or as lighthearted as his pre-solo stuff. It's just diverse, harmony-laden indie pop that doesn't cut too deep or get too cloying, ranging from the sunshine pop-styled staccato organ of "Rush In" and the swampy settings of "Sew Long" to the lilting folk-rock of "Nothing Seems Right" and "Siren's Call."

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:41 SpotifyAmazon
2 2:25 SpotifyAmazon
3 3:36 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:51 SpotifyAmazon
5 2:21 SpotifyAmazon
6 2:34 SpotifyAmazon
2:31 SpotifyAmazon
8 2:51 SpotifyAmazon
9 3:20 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:35 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:38 SpotifyAmazon
12 3:15 SpotifyAmazon
13 2:52 SpotifyAmazon
14 2:55 SpotifyAmazon
15 2:42 SpotifyAmazon
16 4:16 SpotifyAmazon
17 3:00 SpotifyAmazon
18 2:08 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick