Hans Zimmer

Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron [Music from the Original Motion Picture]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Much like Disney's Tarzan, Dreamworks' animated epic Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron opts for a mostly pop-based soundtrack instead of an instrumental score. Tarzan used the music of Phil Collins as a backdrop to its stunning visuals; Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron features 15 new tracks from Bryan Adams to lend atmosphere to the tale of a runaway stallion's journey across the Old West. Adams' rousing, slightly sweet anthems are a good match to the film's look and theme, and they're also in keeping with the rest of his work. "Here I Am," "I Will Always Return," and "Don't Let Go" could fit in just as easily on his albums as on this collection. Likewise, "Get off My Back" sounds a lot like it could've been on 18 'Til I Die. There's some variety here as well, demonstrated by the vaguely Native American-influenced "Brothers Under the Sun" and understated ballads like "Here I Am" and "Nothing I've Ever Known." Not all of the diversity works well, however; the rebellious "You Can't Take Me" suffers from some shrill, tinny-sounding synths that make it difficult to listen to. The few instrumental excerpts at the end of the album round it out nicely, making Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron is a pleasant and successful soundtrack, especially for Bryan Adams' fans.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 04:45 Amazon
2 03:59 Amazon
3 02:56 Amazon
4 02:50 Amazon
5 03:58 Amazon
6 04:02 Amazon
7 02:21 Amazon
8 04:32 Amazon
9 03:55 Amazon
10 06:22 Amazon
11 03:42 Amazon
12 02:51 Amazon
13 07:11 Amazon
14 03:52 Amazon
15 02:46 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick