Sun Ra

Space Is the Place [Original Motion Picture Soundtrack]

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Space Is the Place is the soundtrack to a film that was made but never released, and the tunes are among his most ambitious, unorthodox, and compelling compositions. Between June Tyson's declarative vocals, chants, and dialogue and Ra's crashing, flailing synthesizer and organ fills, and with such songs as "Blackman/Love in Outer Space," "It's After the End of the World," and "I Am the Brother of the Wind," this disc offers aggressive, energized, and uncompromising material. Ra's pianistic forays, phrases, and textures were sometimes dismissed as mere noodling when they were part of a well-constructed multimedia package. This comes as close as any of Ra's releases to being not only a concept work but a blueprint for his live shows from the early '70s until the end of his career. Features some previously unissued cuts.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:28
2 3:58
3 3:24
4 7:14
5 3:07
6 1:12
7 2:35
8 3:11
9 3:03
10 2:31
11 3:08
12 16:55
13 5:55
14 5:56
15 4:15
16 4:23
blue highlight denotes track pick