Various Artists

Soul Funk 80s

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rather than home in on a tightly constricted time span, the 12 tracks on Madacy's Soul Funk 80s compilation span the whole decade, from Mtume's "Juicy Fruit" to Terence Trent D'Arby's "Wishing Well." The compilation does, however, keep something of a focus on songs that are upbeat, and they were all major hits when they were released. Otherwise, it's a fairly random selection, but the quality level is undeniable, with the likes of Earth, Wind & Fire's "Let's Groove," Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam's "Head to Toe," Teena Marie's "Ooh La La La," Surface's "Closer Than Friends," and Babyface's "It's No Crime" leading the way.

blue highlight denotes track pick