Cannonball Adderley

Sophisticated Swing: The EmArcy Small Group Sessions

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Reissued in this two-CD set are all of the recordings from the first Cannonball Adderley Quintet, a group that despite its talents failed commercially. With Cannonball on alto, cornetist Nat Adderley, pianist Junior Mance, bassist Sam Jones, and drummer Jimmy Cobb, it is surprising that the group did not make it, but the Adderleys were fairly unknown at the time. The music is quite bop-oriented, bluesy but not as soulful as it would be when Cannonball put together a new group in 1959. This set reissues all of the music originally included on Nat Adderley's To the Ivy League from Nat, and Cannonball's Sophisticated Swing, Cannonball Enroute, and Sharp Shooters (except for one trio feature without the horns) plus a few cuts not released until the CD era. The generous reissue not only gives one a fine sampling of the first Cannonball Adderley Quintet but everything they recorded. Highly recommended to bop fans.

Track Listing - Disc 1

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 3:40 SpotifyAmazon
2 3:36 SpotifyAmazon
3 2:16 SpotifyAmazon
4 3:06 SpotifyAmazon
5 3:25 SpotifyAmazon
6 3:50 SpotifyAmazon
7 2:45 SpotifyAmazon
3:30 SpotifyAmazon
9 2:53 SpotifyAmazon
10 3:32 SpotifyAmazon
11 3:06 SpotifyAmazon
12 6:21 SpotifyAmazon
13 3:54 SpotifyAmazon
14 6:14 SpotifyAmazon
15 3:29 SpotifyAmazon
16 2:42 SpotifyAmazon
17 3:56 SpotifyAmazon
18 3:57
19 3:49 SpotifyAmazon
20 4:38 SpotifyAmazon
21 3:26 SpotifyAmazon
blue highlight denotes track pick