Dave Brockie / Dave Brockie Experience

Songs for the Wrong

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Whoever determined that heavy metal and humor simply don't mix (was it Spinal Tap?) failed to alert vocalist/bassist Dave Brockie (of GWAR infamy) and his ill-intentioned cohorts (guitarist Mike Derks and drummer Brad Roberts) in the ironically named Dave Brockie Experience. Together they pack 2003's alternately gut-busting and distraction-inducing Songs for the Wrong with 17 songs dedicated to everything from animal instincts ("I Wanna Be a Squirrell" and the Zappa-esque "Medieval Werewolf") to scatological musings ("Slowpoke," "Hard for a 'Tard"), to promoting homosexual affirmative action in the military ("March of the Faggot Soldiers")...OK, not really. Equally prone to eulogizing cheese ("The Chinese Have No Cheese") and his penis ("Should the Ugly Girl Blow Me?"), Brockie and his crew are clearly not everyone's cup of tea, but if approached with an open mind and a teenage maturity level, Songs for the Wrong guarantees a good time, if not necessarily great music.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:13 Amazon
2 2:33 Amazon
3 2:51 Amazon
4 2:37 Amazon
5 0:43 Amazon
6 2:53 Amazon
7 2:09 Amazon
8 1:30 Amazon
9 2:57 Amazon
10 0:57 Amazon
11 2:45 Amazon
12 2:07 Amazon
13 3:03 Amazon
14 1:21 Amazon
15 3:56 Amazon
16 4:03 Amazon
2:54 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick