Dean Martin

Somewhere There's a Someone/The Hit Sound of Dean Martin

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by William Ruhlmann

Dean Martin's 11th and 13th Reprise LPs, both released originally in 1966, are combined on this CD reissue. The singer's 12th Reprise album was Songs From The Silencers, a quasi-soundtrack that Collectors' Choice Music has opted to combine with his 15th Reprise release, The Dean Martin TV Show. That may be an appropriate pairing, not because of the nominal connections to Martin's television and movie activities, but because both of those albums contain traditional pop standards, while Somewhere There's a Someone and The Hit Sound of Dean Martin are in the country-pop style that brought him a series of hits in the mid-'60s. Three of those hits are included: "Somewhere There's a Someone," "A Million and One," and "Come Running Back." Martin's Reprise albums tended to be tied into his singles hits, and Reprise was not above repeating material from one LP to another. For example, ten of the 12 tracks on Somewhere There's a Someone were released earlier on either Country Style or Dean "Tex" Martin Rides Again, a fact the potential purchaser might want to keep in mind if he or she is also planning to buy Collectors' Choice's two-fer combining those two albums. In fact, Reprise even repeated one of those songs ("Any Time") a second time on The Hit Sound of Dean Martin (which also contains "Ain't Gonna Try Anymore" from Country Style), and -- sure enough -- it appears twice on this disc. None of this may be Collectors' Choice's fault, but the result is that this is not one of the more essential titles in its series of reissues of Martin's Reprise catalog.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 Dean Martin 02:15 Amazon
2 Dean Martin 02:22 Amazon
3 Dean Martin 01:48 Amazon
4 Dean Martin 02:36 Amazon
5 Dean Martin 03:04 Amazon
6 Dean Martin 02:43 Amazon
7 Dean Martin 02:59 Amazon
8 Dean Martin 02:58 Amazon
9 Dean Martin 02:25 Amazon
10 Dean Martin 02:05 Amazon
11 Dean Martin 03:00 Amazon
12 Dean Martin 02:17 Amazon
13 Dean Martin 02:56 Amazon
14 Dean Martin 02:06 Amazon
15 Dean Martin 02:22 Amazon
16 Dean Martin 02:24 Amazon
17 Dean Martin 02:40 Amazon
18 Dean Martin 02:08 Amazon
19 Dean Martin 02:23 Amazon
20 Dean Martin 02:03 Amazon
21 Dean Martin 02:10 Amazon
22 Dean Martin 02:13 Amazon
Dean Martin 02:18 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick