Fu Manchu

Something Beyond

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first studio work since the 2001 California Crossing sessions, Something Beyond is a short, three-song EP containing two originals and raucous cover of Black Flag's classic anthem "Six Pack." Paddling closer to commercial hard rock territory, Fu Manchu continues to surf familiar waves of heavy guitar riffs, while Scott Hill confidently drops in amplified slacker vocals on the be-boppy "So Far Behind," and the slightly moodier "Something Beyond." Doing right by So-Cal heroes Black Flag, Fu Manchu completely nails the desperate snarl of "Six Pack," which adds to an already interesting resumé of cover songs ("Freedom of Choice," "Godzilla," "Nothing Done," and "Chevy Van").

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:42 Amazon
2 3:47 Amazon
3 2:50
blue highlight denotes track pick