Tony Bennett

Some Pair

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Tony Bennett recorded two albums with Count Basie and His Orchestra under a contractual agreement giving one of the records to Bennett's label, Columbia, and the other to Basie's, Roulette. The Columbia album, In Person!, was released once, while the Roulette album, initially issued under the title Strike Up The Band, has been re-released by various labels under various titles endlessly. This is one of those reissues, and while one may deplore the duplicitous marketing scheme, the pairing of Bennett and Basie remains impressive. The band raves through tunes like "With Plenty Of Money And You," and Bennett matches them, drawing strength from the bravura arrangements while band and singer achieve a knowing tenderness on "Growing Pains." This version, billed as a "double play" (which means it runs nearly 56 minutes) contains both the 10 Bennett/Basie Roulette tracks and nine other tracks featuring Basie alone. This is an album well worth owning; just make sure you don't buy it twice.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time
1 1:41
2 2:04
3 1:30
4 2:18
5 2:53
6 3:01
7 2:06
8 3:36
9 3:27
10 2:43
11 3:00
12 3:04
13 2:49
14 3:57
15 3:45
16 2:50
17 3:21
18 4:02
19 2:41
blue highlight denotes track pick