Various Artists

Solid Soul, Vol. 3: Soul Man

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by Andy Kellman

Solid Soul is an extensive and usually smart series of compilations that pays most of its attention to mid-'60s singles; on occasion, it does stretch out to include material from well into the '70s. These aren't your typical collections since they dig real deep for buried nuggets and also include some well-known hits in order to entice longtime soul fans and the merely curious alike. The third volume, subtitled Soul Man, includes Aaron Neville's "Tell It Like It Is," Tony Drake's "Let's Play House," Chuck Jackson's "Any Day Now (My Wild Beautiful Bird)," Joe Wilson's "When a Man Cries," and Lloyd Price's "Mr. and Mrs. Untrue."

blue highlight denotes track pick