Various Artists

Smooth Jazz Awards Collection, Vol. 2

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This compilation is in connection with the Annual Smooth Jazz Awards, and features 11 tracks from artists nominated in 2001, with one brand new track recorded specifically for the compilation by saxophonist Everette Harp and bassist Brian Bromberg. The track, a cover of Michael Jackson's 1979 smash hit "Rock With You," also features keyboardist Jeff Lorber, who also served as musical director of the awards show. Chart-toppers from smooth jazz favorites Joyce Cooling, Euge Groove, Shilts, and Richard Elliot are included, and make this compilation a great addition for collectors of smooth jazz or award show soundtracks.

blue highlight denotes track pick