Various Artists

Smooth Grooves: Jazzy Soul, Vol. 1

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Rhino's Smooth Grooves series continues with Jazzy Soul, Vol. 1, a collection of jazzy soul hits from Loose Ends, Miki Howard, Kashif, and Shirley Jones. Al Jarreau's "Mornin'," Maze's "Golden Time Of Day," Bill Withers' "Lovely Day," and the Blackbyrds' "Walking In Rhythm," set the tone for this sophisticated R&B set, which also includes songs by Patrice Rushen, Minnie Ripperton, and Norman Connors.

blue highlight denotes track pick