Daniel Menche


  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

A brief descriptive note on the back of this album explains that it "was entirely created by mangling and melting the sound sources from the following artists: S.E.T.I., Asmus Tietchens, Main, John Duncan, Scanner, Akira Rabelais, Illusion of Safety, Merzbow, ErikM, B. Labelle, and AMT." Don't worry if you recognize no more than one or two of those names, or even none of them at all -- when Menche says "mangling and melting" he means it, and there's not a moment of recognizable music to be found on this single 53-minute-long track. Each of the listed artists sent Menche a one-minute section of sound to work with, and he completely destroyed them all, creating from the wreckage a long, droning piece that changes only very gradually, often morphing into a surprisingly beautiful and complex (if harmonically static) tapestry of sound. Unfortunately, this all comes after an initial two-and-a-half-minute blast of oppressive, unlistenable noise, which is reprised again at about minute 37 and then again at the very end. But in between those willfully sadistic interludes are long stretches of dark, serene beauty. Not for the faint of heart, but those equally open to unholy skronk and subtle ambience will find this album fascinating.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
blue highlight denotes track pick