June Christy

Sings the Standards

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

This solid collection may strike June Christy fans as a little ironic because rather than stock her albums with standards the way that most of her peers did, the West Coast jazz vocalist was known for unearthing new and obscure songs. It's not that Christy neglected standards (in fact she recorded dozens of them over her 12-year run with Capitol Records), it's just that one gets the feeling that when she sang something like "I'm Glad There Is You" it was because she had something fresh or unique to bring to it. And she does put her own personal and idiosyncratic stamp on 20 of the songs here while two tunes haven't been recorded enough to become standards (the undeservedly obscure "Cry Like the Wind" and the swing-era novelty "Bei Mir Bist Du Schon"). So, when you add the song selection to the fact that this disc features the vocalist in orchestral, small-group jazz and big-band settings, the disc not only offers a much more complete portrait of the artist than the title suggests, but this is also one of the strongest entries in EMI's Sings the Standards series.

Track Listing

Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 2:48 Spotify
2 4:06 Spotify
3 3:15
4 3:12 Spotify
5 2:41 SpotifyAmazon
6 1:53 Spotify
7 2:31 Spotify
8 2:29 Spotify
9 3:04 Spotify
10 2:40 Spotify
11 3:16 Spotify
12 2:38 Spotify
13 2:44
14 2:33 Spotify
15 2:27 Spotify
16 2:33 Spotify
17 4:56 Spotify
18 2:34 Spotify
19 3:09
20 4:21 Spotify
21 3:06 Spotify
22 2:48 Spotify
blue highlight denotes track pick