Ella Fitzgerald

Sings 'N' Swings

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

Ella Fitzgerald recorded for several labels during the first three decades of her career. After a spell with Chick Webb's band, she signed to Decca as a solo act in 1938 and spent over a decade recording for the label. While successful during her time, the Decca recordings slumped, in fans' opinions, after they began realizing that her next stop, Verve, was one of the best pairings of artist with label ever seen in pop music. Sings 'N' Swings, a lengthy compilation from Castle Pie, presents the best of her Decca days, which were excellent, indeed. Beginning with her bright, buoyant version of "Oh, Lady Be Good" (arguably superior to her main version of the song with Verve), the disc compiles the songs that made her a vocal star during the '40s, including her hit duet with Louis Jordan, "Stone Cold Dead in the Market (He Had It Coming)." Decca forced her to record a few too many versions of songs that were better-known from other vocalists -- "Sentimental Journey," "And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine," "The Frim Fram Sauce," "You Won't Be Satisfied (Until You Break My Heart)" -- but Ella never had a problem sounding distinct and enjoyable.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time
1 3:16
2 3:18
3 2:42
4 3:17
5 2:54
6 3:25
7 3:14
8 3:12
9 3:15
10 2:44
11 3:24
12 3:02
13 2:39
14 3:11
15 2:39
16 2:55
17 3:00
18 3:08
19 3:13
20 3:07
21 2:44
22 2:28
blue highlight denotes track pick