Mort Garson

Signs of the Zodiac: Aries

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

With his 12-part opus Signs of the Zodiac, Mort Garson effectively anticipates both the sound and the thematic reach of new age music, teaming with electronic pioneer Paul Beaver, who employs an arsenal of cutting-edge instruments including the then-new Moog synthesizer. Garson creates deeply contemplative and otherworldly soundscapes rich in mood and portent, in essence evoking a mystical world just beyond the reach of logic but never succumbing to kitsch. The first sign in the Zodiac, Aries represents new beginnings and adventure, and so Garson delivers some of the most impassioned and daring music in the series. Cyrus Farrar's voice-over narration is no less dramatic, elucidating the deeper mysteries of humankind with authority.