The Pagans

Shit Street

  • AllMusic Rating
  • User Ratings (0)
  • Your Rating

AllMusic Review by

The first of two CD reissues (the other being The Pink Album Plus) from 2001 that cover the Pagans' existence as thoroughly as can be, Shit Street is almost evenly divided between studio takes from 1977 to 1979 and a slew of live cuts, almost all from an August 1979 show. Concentrating on the earliest and for many best incarnation of the group, the disc brings together all its four singles plus every last rarity and demo one could imagine, including a slew of covers that show the band's varied roots in everything from the Rolling Stones to Johnny Rivers and Benny Spellman. Unsurprisingly "What's This Shit Called Love" kicks everything off, and if for many it'll be all the Pagans they'll ever want, it's still one hell of a monster, as perfect a bridge between disaffected heartland American punk and later twists as could be imagined. That Hudson sounds exactly like Mark Arm would later sound isn't a surprise at all in retrospect. If nothing else quite stands up to that supreme moment, there's still plenty to enjoy, including the aggro sneers of "Haven't Got the Time" and "Not Now No Way" and enjoyable enough reworkings of the old psych nugget "The Little Black Egg" and the Stones' "Heart of Stone." Meanwhile, the live cuts make for a great bit of late-'70s crash and bash, concluding with some help from Cheetah Chrome and Jimmy Zero of the Dead Boys, sitting in on covers of Bobby Womack's "It's All Over Now" and the Stooges' "Search and Destroy." The sound quality of the studio tracks varies as it goes, with some being noticeably more tinny and trebly than the others, while the live songs suffer a bit from an unbalanced mix but otherwise come through well. Exhaustive liner notes from Hudson, rare photographs, useful website links, and more complete this well-assembled collection.

Track Listing

Sample Title/Composer Performer Time Stream
1 02:39 Amazon
2 01:39 Amazon
3 02:42 Amazon
4 01:56 Amazon
5 02:00 Amazon
6 02:11 Amazon
7 02:46 Amazon
8 02:00 Amazon
03:37 Amazon
10 02:36 Amazon
11 01:45 Amazon
12 01:27 Amazon
13 02:39 Amazon
14 02:29 Amazon
15 02:35 Amazon
16 02:35 Amazon
17 01:26 Amazon
18 01:35 Amazon
19 01:08 Amazon
20 02:25 Amazon
21 01:52 Amazon
22 02:25 Amazon
23 02:40 Amazon
24 01:25 Amazon
25 02:24 Amazon
26 02:14 Amazon
27 02:32 Amazon
28 01:57 Amazon
29 02:52 Amazon
30 01:36 Amazon
31 02:41 Amazon
32 03:41 Amazon
33 02:45 Amazon
blue highlight denotes track pick